Item #1373747 Model #49008083

Schott Sonata Piano 4 Hands Schott Series Standard


Out of stock
Pickup In-Store

This item is backordered but it is available to reserve now. You will not be charged until the item ships.

Email me when in stock

Save to Wishlist

István Szelényi (1904 · 1972) studied with Kodály and later taught composition at the Budapest conservatory. His output consists mainly of pieces written for teaching purposes, including works for youth orchestra, for violin ensemble, as well as chamber music and piano pieces. The first movement of the Piano Sonata, in 1970, begins with a free introduction leading to a sonata-typical development and exploration of two contrasting themes. The second movement ('Nocturne') is an intricate filigree of tender demi-semi-quavers. The Sonata finishes with a virtuosic 'Toccata' full of rhythms and harmonies harking back to Hungarian folk tunes.