Item #1355429 Model #44004567

Anglo Music Press Sinfonietta No.3 (Rheinfelden Sketches) Concert Band Level 5-6 Composed by Philip Sparke Standard


Out of stock
Pickup In-Store

This item is backordered but it is available to reserve now. You will not be charged until the item ships.

Email me when in stock

Save to Wishlist

In each of the four movements, the composer has tried to capture in music something of the spirit of this beautiful Swiss town, which lies on the banks of the Rhein. The first movement (Promenade) revolves around two ideas that appear in the opening bars, one in the brass and one in the woodwind. These ideas alternate until a short, lyrical bridge passage leads to a noble tune on the horns. These three elements then interplay until the opening passage brings the movement to a close. The second movement (Ballad)opens with a dreamy saxophone solo and a chordal passage for the trombones before the main theme, a chorale, appears on the lower half of the band. The tempo then begins to move forward until a change of mood is introduced with a driving, rhythmic section. This soon subsides and the chorale returns to bring the movement to a peaceful close, leading to Scherzo, a buoyant moto perpetuo in which short snatches of melody (most importantly one from the low clarinets) try to establish themselves. Before they can do so, a tolling bell announces a calmer central section. The quicker music returns but the mood still changes every few bars until the central chorale returns with the original clarinet tune as an accompaniment.