Item #1389530 Model #51480741

G. Henle Verlag String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 130 and Great Fugue, Op. 133 Henle Music by Ludwig van Beethoven Standard


Out of stock
Pickup In-Store

This item is backordered but it is available to reserve now. You will not be charged until the item ships.

Email me when in stock

Save to Wishlist

We have now come full circle - this edition concludes our Urtext series of the complete Beethoven string quartets. The ending of this highly expressive work, at whose centre is the famous Cavatina, was originally the Grand Fugue. Yet a contemporary critic felt that this was unintelligible, like Chinese. At the urging of the publisher Beethoven replaced it with a newly composed finale and published the Grand Fugue with a new opus number. Ever since, it has often been performed separately. In order to respect the desire of modern ensembles to be able to perform the Quartet op. 130 in Beethoven's original version, we have included the Grand Fugue in this edition.