Item #1358299 Model #132351

PWM Various Compositions for Piano (Chopin National Edition Volume XXIXB) PWM Series Softcover Standard


Out of stock
Pickup In-Store

This item is backordered but it is available to reserve now. You will not be charged until the item ships.

Email me when in stock

Save to Wishlist

Includes these 17 posthumously published works: Spring; Allegretto; Cantabile; Ecossaise No. 1 in G Major; Ecossaise No. 2 in D-flat Major; Ecossaise No. 3 in D Major; Galop Marquis; Impromptu in C-sharp minor; Contredanse; Lento con gran espressione; Funeral March in C minor; Moderato; Nocturne in C minor; Nocturne in E minor; Presto con leggierezza; Sostenuto; Variants. The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin Published by PWM Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation Co-Editors Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form, based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology. The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer, mainly autographs, copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections, and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking, the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort. The characteristics of sources, the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume. The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments, comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate, due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos), suggestions as to the harmonic legato (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten). About the National Edition Full Introduction to the Polish National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin